The Last Herald Mage: Magic’s Promise By Mercedes Lackey

WOW…

So going into this, book two of a trilogy, I was more then a bit thrown off by the time jump, the skipped events, and whatnot in the beginning. There’s things I feel like I skipped over even though this is the second book in the trilogy and should follow near on the heels of the first. It doesn’t. It’s not a bad thing, just disoriented me enough to make me feel lost from time to time; especially since I’ve listened to the songs that go WITH those skipped events!

Vanyel’s grown quite a bit it seems, and we’re going back to Forst Reach, Vanyel’s Familial home, for a new adventure on a WHOLE different scale! Battles are breaking out, assassinations are executed, and some old wounds are finally healed, but just how long will it last? There’s still one more book in the trilogy, so I’m expecting some loose ends to be tied up finally, I just gotta ask… which ones will they be?

6 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction

6 responses to “The Last Herald Mage: Magic’s Promise By Mercedes Lackey

  1. “There’s still one more book in the trilogy, so I’m expecting some loose ends to be tied up finally, I just gotta ask… which ones will they be?”

    Oh man. Prepare for your mind to be BLOWN.

    • Already know what I’ll be walking into eh? XD No spoilers please, but it’s good to see I’m not the only one still interested in the series presently, considering how long ago the book was printed.

      • I wouldn’t think of spoiling it. Actually, my girlfriend is halfway through the last one and I have to bite my tongue not to give anything away. It’s a wonderful series, and I think it holds up well despite its age. Her best trilogy, in my opinion (though I might be biased, heehee).

      • Haha, I got no opinions on best series from her, I haven’t read enough of them to know, but I DO love the Valdemar world books so far! and the music to go with them just makes them all the better! I want to learn to play some of the songs that go with the books but finding the sheet music is next to impossible. x.x;

      • Have you heard Heather Alexander’s songs of Valdemar CD? I love her cover of Windrider Unchained.

      • I have, though admittedly I prefer Nightblades, Demonbane and Shadow Stalker.

Leave a Reply

