The LionheART Guide to Editing Fiction By Karen Perkins

My copy was obtained for free through a GoodReads First Reads Giveaway.

Not a very thick book at all, but still pretty awesome. And just in time for Camp Nano!

I’ve never been good at editing my own stories, (or writing them in fact) not for lack of trying though, I was always intimidated by the editing process, especially with the longer documents. Anything over 15 pages printed out and I’d start delaying like crazy, doing everything else I could think of. I didn’t want to read through all those words looking for errors or cutting out info or rearrange info. It’s sort of like walking into your super-messy room as a kid and thinking ‘this will take forever!’ so instead of cleaning you start playing with the toys, using your bed as the playing space, and the rest of the room, piles and all, as uncharted lands to explore.

So this book focusing on editing should be a real help for me. I do most my writing in Word 2003, so while this book is more for how to find stuff in 2010 Word, I know I’ve seen the stuff in the 03 version, it’ll take a bit to figure out where it all is but having the info on HOW to go about the editing process without worrying about losing a bunch of info I might need in later passes is definitely going to be a big help to find a start-point to the editing process.

Leave a comment

Filed under How to Write

Leave a Reply

